Are my expectations of myself unrealistic

After reading Amandas blog ‘High Expectations! Killing me slowly’ I reflected on my own expectations and yes I think I am also putting a lot of pressure on myself to achieve.  I don’t think that wanting to do your absolute best is a bad thing and wanting a great result from an assignment is unreasonable but what is unreasonable is how sick it makes me feel wanting a good result. When our results come in I feel physically sick clicking on the link and waiting to see the outcome, unfortunately I think it comes with the territory.

I’ve come to realise that I can’t take the feedback from the marker personally (but I do and I have to talk myself of the imaginary ledge I have climbed onto) and sadley I have had some harsh comments here and there.  They don’t know me, they don’t know how hard I work on absolutley every word I type and how much time I take away from my family to sweat over every detail in the hopes that I get it right and they think so too, it is their job.  I may not agree with some of the feedback I receive but it is what it is and I will never stop trying to be the best I can be.  I know how passionate I am to be a teacher and this is what drives me.  Keep your chins held high, there is a light at the end of the tunnel and it is not a train.

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Are my expectations of myself unrealistic

  1. I know that ledge so well!! I think the time it takes from the moment you hit the button to get your results to the time it takes it show on the screen can be a lifetime. It is very hard to read some of the negative comments but as you mentioned it is there job,it doesn’t make it easier but a necessary evil:(.
    The light at the end of the tunnel is getting brighter every day(still not a train,thank goodness lol), I keep on reminding myself that with every comment good or bad it is making me a better teacher.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Choices……. | kaylenebonaccorso

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Teachling

A teacher's take on...

Jenny@USQ- a student blog

A student blog for EDC3100

Aaron's journey into the world of ICT!!

“Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It’s not.” (Dr. Seuss)

Sea Turtle Science Classroom

Sea Turtle Science Happenings

ctasdotme

Just another WordPress.com site

Teaching Today

Cherene Trimble

Chalkie's Talk

EDC3100 Blog

AMANDA CONWAY'S EDC3100 ICT Blog

ICT in the classroom : The learning journey of a pre-service educator

tarlinapolly

Blogging my way through EDC3100

Shannon's ICT Blog

Roller coaster ride through ICT

Hayley Richter's Weblog

Follow the Adventures of my Pre-service Teacher Education

reezy75

EDC 3100 - ICT and Pedagogy - Today is a great day to learn something new

Kelsie Swan

Life is a journey, with problems to solve, lessons to learn, and experiences to enjoy!

kaylenebonaccorso

Life Is A Beach: My journey to sink or swim.......

maxborserio

musings of a studious mind